Chintan Gaja’s fiery spell had introduced Gujarat again into rivalry on the third day, however Vasavada’s seventh first-class hundred, and the third this season, swung the momentum in favour of the hosts.

Courtesy his ton and helpful contributions from Chetan Sakariya (45), Chirag Jani (51) and Dharmendrasinh Jadeja (21), Saurashtra recovered from a dismal 15 for 5 to submit 274 of their second innings.

They had a 52-run lead and therefore the goal set was 327. When stumps have been drawn, Gujarat have been seven for one with opener Priyank Panchal (0) again within the hut.

Earlier, resuming the day at 66 for 5, Sakariya and Vasavada have been going sturdy earlier than their 90-run sixth wicket stand was damaged by a horrible mix-up between the 2, which resulted within the former’s dismissal.

The hosts misplaced their sixth wicket on 105. Jani then joined Vasavada and performed the right second-fiddle because the hosts took lunch at 155 for six.

Saurashtra’s general lead had by then handed the 200-run mark. Post lunch, Vasavada and Jani saved irritating the Gujarat bowlers. It was Gaja once more, who supplied the essential break-through for the guests by dismissing Jani within the 84th over.

The new ball did the trick for Gaja, as he bowled within the good size space and Jani’s outdoors edge flew to Samit Gohel within the second slip.

Vasavada and Jani added 109 runs for the seventh wicket.

Gaja took his seventh wicket when he eliminated Prerak Mankad (1) on the stroke of tea, which Saurashtra took at 222-8.

After Jadeja fell, Vasavada upped the ante however perished within the course of.

In his 139-run innings, he blasted 16 fours and a six. Considering that it is a worn-out pitch, it might be a tricky ask for Parthiv Patel-led facet to chase the goal on the ultimate day.

The winner of this recreation will conflict with Bengal, who made it to the summit conflict after defeating Karnataka.

Brief Scores: Saurashtra 304 and 274 (Arpit Vasavada 139, Chirag Jani 51; Chintan Gaja 7/71) v/s Gujarat 252 and seven/1. Gujarat wants 320 runs to win.

Source hyperlink