Latham received the annual award for the primary time after scoring 608 runs in 9 assessments at a median of 40.53. His finest innings was his 154 in opposition to Sri Lanka in Colombo in August which helped New Zealand win the second take a look at and stage the two-match collection.

Latham was chosen as an opener within the International Cricket Council’s world take a look at staff of 2019.

“This season we faced some of the very best bowling attacks in the world and Tom was an absolute rock at the top for us,” New Zealand coach Gary Stead stated.

Ian Smith honoured with Bert Sutcliffe medal for contribution to New Zealand cricket

Tim Southee received the Windsor Cup as New Zealand’s finest bowler for the primary time since 2014. The trophy has been received by both Trent Boult or Neil Wagner over the earlier 5 seasons.

Southee took 40 wickets at a median of 21.47 within the awards intervals, contributing to check match wins over Sri Lanka in Colombo, England in Mount Maunganui and India in Wellington and Christchurch.

“The way we played our test cricket at home this summer was especially pleasing,” Stead stated.

“To beat England first up was a great effort and then to perform so well against a very good Indian side was immensely satisfying.”

The trophy winners have been unveiled Wednesday (April 29) on the second day of New Zealand Cricket’s digital awards ceremony, with organizers going digital for the primary time.

New Zealand completed off its house schedule for 2019-20 with back-to-back take a look at wins over India in February, then had its limited-overs collection in Australia disrupted due to border closures and journey restrictions applied due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Source hyperlink