Durham all-rounder Ben Stokes is about to change into the 81st England males’s Test captain on Wednesday after it was confirmed earlier within the week that he’ll change Yorkshire’s Joe Root as captain.

Root, who has returned to Sheffield to be on the delivery of his second little one, left the safe bubble in Southampton earlier this week. He will self-isolate for seven days earlier than becoming a member of up with the squad forward of the second Test on the Old Trafford beginning on July 16.

England Test Squad: Ben Stokes (Durham) Captain, James Anderson (Lancashire), Jofra Archer (Sussex), Dominic Bess (Somerset), Stuart Broad (Nottinghamshire), Rory Burns (Surrey), Jos Buttler (Lancashire), Zak Crawley (Kent), Joe Denly (Kent), Ollie Pope (Surrey), Dom Sibley (Warwickshire), Chris Woakes (Warwickshire), Mark Wood (Durham).

Test Reserves: James Bracey (Gloucestershire), Sam Curran (Surrey), Ben Foakes (Surrey), Dan Lawrence (Essex), Jack Leach (Somerset), Saqib Mahmood (Lancashire), Craig Overton (Somerset), Ollie Robinson (Sussex), Olly Stone (Warwickshire).

Three-match Test Series:

1st Test: England v West Indies, July 8-12, Ageas Bowl, Southampton

2nd Test: England v West Indies, July 16-20, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

third Test: England v West Indies, July 24-28, Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester

Source hyperlink