India’s opener and limited-overs vice-captain Rohit Sharma, star feminine wrestler Vinesh Phogat, para-athlete Mariyappan Thangavelu, girls’s hockey captain Rani Rampal and feminine desk tennis sensation Manika Batra will likely be conferred the celebrated award this yr.

Meanwhile, cricketers Ishant Sharma and Deepti Sharma, athlete Dutee Chand, shooter Manu Bhaker are amongst 27 sportspersons who will likely be conferred with Arjuna Award.

Vinesh is an Asian Games gold medal winner wrestler, whereas Thangavelu is a Paralympic gold medalist in Rio. Rani Rampal has been the most effective feminine hockey gamers on this planet and main the India nationwide girls’s hockey staff from the entrance.

While paddler Manika Batra has been making the upward curve within the sport as has change into an inspiration for a number of younger women who aspire to be a desk tennis participant. She had a outstanding 2018 whereby she gained the Commonwealth Games gold medal and Asian Games bronze in girls’s singles.

Rohit (33) is about to change into solely the fourth cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar, MS Dhoni and Virat Kohli to be conferred with Khel Ratna Award. Virat Kohli was the final cricketer to have gained the award together with weightlifter Mirabai Chanu again in 2018.

The Mumbaikar had an outstanding 2019 and has been rewarded for his performances throughout the codecs. He created historical past by slamming 5 centuries in the course of the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and even shined as an opener in Test cricket within the sequence in opposition to South Africa the place he slammed a few centuries and a double century.

The awards will likely be conferred on August 29, which is the beginning anniversary of Hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand. That day can also be celebrated as National Sports Day.

Source hyperlink