Rohit Sharma, four others chosen for Khel Ratna Award 2020; Rohit joins an elite record of India cricketers

Rohit, together with star feminine wrestler Vinesh Phogat, para-athlete Mariyappan Thangavelu, girls’s hockey captain Rani Rampal and feminine desk tennis sensation Manika Batra will probably be conferred the celebrated award this 12 months.

The ODI skipper took to Twitter to dedicate the award to all his followers for his or her unwavering help, saying that this “wouldn’t have been possible” with out them.

“It’s been a wonderful ride and to receive such a sporting honour is a great privilege and I am very happy about it and I owe this to you all. Without your support, it wouldn’t have been possible,” India’s white-ball skipper mentioned on Twitter.

“Keep supporting and I promise to bring much more laurels for the country. Since we are practising social distancing, a virtual hug from me to all of you guys,” mentioned the person who hit an unprecedented 5 lots of in a single ODI World Cup through the 2019 version in England.

Rohit is the fourth cricketer after Sachin Tendulkar, Mahendra Singh Dhoni and Virat Kohli to obtain the celebrated award. Virat Kohli was the final cricketer to have received the award together with weightlifter Mirabai Chanu again in 2018.

The Mumbaikar had an outstanding 2019 and has been rewarded for his performances throughout the codecs. He created historical past by slamming 5 centuries through the ICC Cricket World Cup 2019 and even shined as an opener in Test cricket within the sequence in opposition to South Africa the place he slammed a few centuries and a double century.

The awards will probably be conferred on August 29, which is the delivery anniversary of Hockey legend Major Dhyan Chand. That day can be celebrated as National Sports Day.

Source hyperlink